What Happened to 2D Animation?

I know I can’t be the only one who misses 2D animation. 2D animation used to rule the cartoon world before computerized animation. Most of the cartoons I grew up on were 2D drawings like The Lion King, El Dorado, and The Prince of Egypt. I found these films and others like them to have good story lines and also be aesthetically pleasing.

When Pixar began producing computer animated films, I thought they were really neat because they were something new and technological, but I found myself not liking and connecting to them as much as I would with the 2D cartoons. I don’t really have an explanation as to why that was the case for me. I suppose it all depends on your preference and what is most aesthetically pleasing to you, and for me, it was 2D animation. I was lucky enough to grow up in a time where there was a mixture of animation types, and I was able to choose between them. Now it seems as though the computer animated type of cartoons have almost completely taken over and have just about eliminated 2D.

Even though Pixar and other computerized films have made some great contributions lately, I feel like viewers should have some sort of option on what style they want to watch. Both kinds of animation are different types of art forms and translate their stories in different ways which is why I feel there should be screen space for both.

lion-king-landscape

1_chicken_little

Just a few days ago, I was talking to my friend who is an animation major at my school, and she completely agreed with me that the cartoon industry should bring back 2D. She also said that she prefers 2D over computerized animation. Although 2D takes much longer to do, with it mostly being hand drawn, I feel like the outcome is that much more impressive and everyone will take notice.

I know for a fact that I took notice when Disney brought back 2D in 2009 for the film Princess and the Frog. Right before its release, I had almost given up hope on 2D returning to the screen. When I saw Princess and the Frog was going to be 2D, I was ecstatic, and I could tell most people were happy as well that Disney went back to its roots for the film. Being that it was 2D made it feel much more like the classic Disney films that are hailed as some of the best cartoons of all time. I really enjoyed Princess and the Frog and found it to be a top notch animated Disney film.

princessandthefrog

My favorite cartoon of all time is Balto, a film about an outcast dog/wolf hybrid who saves the town of Nome, Alaska by retrieving the much needed medicine that was lost in the wilderness. I absolutely loved the animation style in this film as the artists tried to make it look real but also still kept the cartoon feel. Every time I watch that film, I’m amazed by how intricate the drawings are and how much effort the artists put into bringing the film to the viewers. Not only is the animation stunning, but the story is truly inspirational.

There are so many great 2D animations that have been drowned out by computerized animations. I feel as though 2D animation is not dead yet and still has the potential to go far. As viewers, I say we need to fight for 2D to come back. There’s so much more we can do with 2D. It’s not time for it to go away.

Leave a comment